The Roof

January 14, 2007

“for goodness sake, just be quiet for one minute!”
i knew it had gone too far then, i realised quite how loud my voice had become, and i fell silent. This wasn’t how it was supposed to be. It was supposed to be a new beginning, something wonderful, being carried over the threshold and a romantic dinner surrounded by boxes we hadn’t unpacked yet. In reality we were hot, tired and nothing seemed right. I ran a hand over my forehead and grimaced when i saw the dust and grime that had now transferred to my hand. I just wanted at least one room to be finished…I looked up to find him staring at me in that funny way of his before he took my hand and led me through the dark house and up the rickety ladder, and there we were.
“I think this is my favourite room” He said softly, and i grinned at him.
“Me too”
It took us a week to unpack, and we had dinner on the roof everynight from then on, it became our secret place – just the two of us away from the chaos around us.

Leave a Reply

