In Close-up

January 14, 2007

I was just looking at a digital photograph when it happened. There was the image of my nephew fast asleep, my childhood teddybear held tight in his arms. I enlarged the image and sat transfixed looking at his profile from forehead to little button nose, studying the soft downy hairs on his head.

It had never hit me before, you think it would have been holding him, rocking him to sleep, smelling that incredible baby smell, making him laugh that would have got me, but it was the picture that made me realise that I want a child.

I want a little person to look after, to watch them sleep, to love unconditionally, and to be the person they turn to insitinctively, and hold their arms up to so readily for affection.

Leave a Reply

