I remember

April 19, 2006

I remember brief moments, like photographs in my mind, each one of him. And as I look at the images, he’s opening the door and an enormous grin spreads across his face when he sees me standing there, I can hear him saying to me, “I’ll never leave”. Nothing makes me happier than that one image of him opening the door, knowing that I made him happy. It’s taken me a long time to understand he didn’t break his promise, he didn’t leave, he was taken. Taken too early. So now I just remember that smile, and that he was wearing his glasses when he opened the door, odd as he never wore his glasses, he’d just squint at things in an adorable way.

Leave a Reply

