Cohabiting

March 24, 2006

“I’ve bought you a present” he announced with a secretive smile.

“Really? What kind of present?”

“First you have to close your eyes…then I’m going to give you things to taste”

I raised my eyebrows but grinned and closed my eyes.

“Ok, you have three choices, here’s option one…”

It was a bizarre taste, like eating three extra strong mints sprinkled with chalk. I must have made a face because he laughed.

“Ok, option two”

“Hey, I know what this one is!”

“Well, play along anyway, here’s option three.”

Definitely minty, but not chalky, no taste of the dreaded spearmint.

“Definitely option three” I said with a smile.

“Excellent. You can open your eyes now”

I looked down at the three tubes of toothpaste sitting on the table in front of me

“Any particular reason I’ve been tasting toothpaste?” I asked curiously.

“Well, if we’re going to move in together we’re going to have to agree on a toothpaste – it’s the grown up thing to do – you can’t always have two tubes of toothpaste by the sink, and now we have one we both like.”

“Was that you asking me to move in with you in a rather round about way?” I asked, the grin on my face growing rapidly.

He nodded, and I leant over to kiss him.

“You’re all toothpastey” he said, as we sat grinning at each other.

Leave a Reply

